Chinese Astrology vs. Horoscopes: What Are the Differences?


One of the significant factors contributing to our current identity is that each person is unique in their way. Whether it’s by personality, upbringing, cultural identity, or in terms of interests, each person will always have a path to choose in life.

Another major factor contributing to our identity is our personality, which has been widely attributed to when we were born. One of the most popular beliefs that most people are familiar with is zodiac signs. People are always looking for ways to predict what the future holds for them, and being able to “read” these systems of divination through an individual’s time of birth has been quite popular for a long time.

Of course, different kinds of astrology are determined by the culture it’s from. Western astrology, which has roots in Europe, is quite different from Chinese horoscopes, based on another divination system. Although there might be some familiar symbols and mechanics that people are familiar with, both differ in various factors.

But what are some of the key differences between the two? We’ll be discussing in detail the differences between both divination systems and how you can identify your zodiac sign based on these systems.

The Used Icons

First and foremost, the icons in both Chinese and western astrology are some of the most popular means of determining a person’s temperament. Frequently, these icons, especially those from Chinese horoscopes, are devised from mythology.

According to Chinese mythology, God summoned creatures that will participate in a ‘race.’ The first twelve animals that finished were then awarded a place in the Chinese zodiac calendar. The rat was known for getting the first place by utilizing his/her intelligence, while the pig was the last person to finish because he was too distracted.

But how do the Chinese icons compare to Euro-centric western astrology? Well, western astrology is based on 12 zodiac signs that are formed from different constellations. Of course, these constellations aren’t just going to be staying within the same place throughout the year. For instance, January is usually associated with the Capricorn constellation, while July is linked to the Cancer constellation.

Although this might seem a bit complex at first, most people will eventually get the hang of reading western astrology. Western astrology has a long history, and it’s easy to get confused. Do you want to know more about astrology? You might want to consider looking at some of the most interesting facts about zodiac signs.

The Difference Phases of the Moon


Lastly, it’s important to note that Chinese Astrology will put a lot of emphasis on the moon. There are various lunar phases of birth, and this divination system is usually linked to a person’s personality. The phase of the moon and the time of conceiving the child are key factors that come into play.

There are four types of lunar phases that you’ll need to consider:

  1. The new moon – Those that are part of this lunar phase are known for being adventurous and will seek out various thrilling activities. Normally, these individuals are also known for being innovative and constantly bringing something new to the table.
  2. The waxing moon – Waxing moons are generally known for being industrious and have a strict merit code. This makes them hard workers and great for a variety of industries and tasks.
  3. The full moon – Full moon types will are known for being quick-witted while having a sharp tongue. Being witty and influential means that they are diplomatic and usually try to get their way in a deal.
  4. The waning moon – Compared to more sociable lunar types, people who are part of the waning moon are known for being introspective and mysterious. In most cases, these individuals will prefer solitude over a noisy environment.

On the other side, western astrology uses three sign qualities with similar characteristics to the lunar signs in Chinese astrology. But compared to a simpler approach of just discerning personalities through the lunar signs, each sign quality is lined to four symbols.

  1. Cardinal – Are more attuned to society and will usually become leaders.
  2. Fixed – They are known for being hard workers and believe in meritocracy.
  3. Mutable – They are known for having a balance of introspection and being sociable, which means that they can easily fit in with any group.

As you can see, western astrology and Chinese horoscopes are quite different in terms of how they perceive the world. Although Chinese horoscopes might seem complex at first glance, they’re actually easy to understand. Still, it’s important to remember that although these systems of divination might “predict” your life, you’re still in control.

Share this on
Scroll to Top